Model, Core Components and Standards

The Children’s Advocacy Center model is a child-focused, facility-based program in which representatives from many disciplines — law enforcement, child protection, prosecution, mental health, medical and victim advocacy – work together, conducting joint forensic interviews and making team decisions about the investigation, treatment, management and prosecution of child abuse cases. CACs are community-based programs designed to meet the unique needs of a community, so no two CACs look exactly alike. They share a core philosophy that child abuse is a multifaceted community problem and no single agency, individual or discipline has the necessary knowledge, skills or resources to serve the needs of all children.

The National Children’s Alliance’s Standards for CACs:

– Multidisciplinary Team 
– Cultural Competency 
– Forensic Interviews 
– Family-Victim Support and Advocacy 
– Medical Evaluations 
– Therapeutic Intervention 
– Case Review 
– Case Tracking 
– Organizational Capacity 
– Child Appropriate & Friendly

Community and Professional Education are strong components promoted by all CACs.

National Children’s Alliance Standards for Accredited Chapters


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *